Crunchyroll Adds Tales of Symphonia: The Animation To Their Catalogue

Tales fans!


Crunchyroll has added Tales of Symphonia: The Animation to their anime catalog since February 24. It is available in Japanese audio with English subtitles. Go check it out if you haven’t watched it already!


Initially, the anime was released back in 2007 as Original Video Animations (OVA) with the Sylvarant arc released as four separate DVD's that released in different parts of the year with the first episode released on June 8, 2007 and then the rest on August 10, October 24 and December 21 of the respective year. The Sylvarant arc got a Blu-ray DVD release on September 2008 in Japan.

The Tethe'alla arc was released in 2010 in the same fashion as the previous arc with the first episode released on March 25, 2010 and then the second and third parts were released on May 26 and September 23 of 2010 while the fourth part was released on February 11, 2011.

The United World arc was released in 2011 with the first part in November 23. The second and third part were released in June 20 and October 24, 2012.

All three arcs were then released as a Blu-ray set in Japan on November 6, 2013.

The anime is a retelling of the game's story. Its summary on Crunchyroll is as follows:


A journey to regenerate the world... 

Two parallel worlds occupy the same space, unknown to each other. But if one prospers, the other withers. The dying world of Sylvarant has one chance to survive. Colette, the “Chosen One,” is sent on a journey to replenish her planet’s supply of mana, the source of all life. In exchange, though, she must become an angel, leaving her human life far behind. Colette is joined on her travels by childhood friends Lloyd and Genis, who swear to protect her. However, as they get closer to their goal, the Tower of Salvation, the group learns the terrible truth behind “world regeneration.”


The anime is only available in United States and Canada at the moment. We will bring updates if the anime (or any Tales anime for that matter) becomes available in other regions.


Tales of Symphonia
Tales of SymphoniaTales of Symphonia is the fifth mothership title of the series and the only title to be released for the Nintendo GameCube. It was then later ported to the PlayStation 2. It has a direct sequel escort title in the form of Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World, and the two were later ported to the PlayStation 3 as a single release in the form of Tales of Symphonia Chronicles. The game is a distant prequel to Tales of Phantasia.

Info Page | News | Gallery | Official Website (JP)

About Grace 71 Articles
Grace is an aspiring novelist currently rewriting her novel for the umpteenth time. When not writing or playing Tales games, she stares at her laptop for hours, ruining her eyes in the process, and watching anime and Let's plays. She is also VERY scatterbrained.
Contact: Website